Saturday, March 17, 2007

Son-et-lumiere premier on 18th March

The Administrator of Chandigarh and Governor of Panjab, Gen. S.F. Rodrigues (retd), shall unveil the 45-minute light and sound show on the City Beautiful on Sunday evening at the Government Museum & Art Gallery.

Conceived and executed by the Indian Tourism Development Corporation, Chandigarh Industrial and Tourism Development Corporation (CITCO), shall now be running and managing the week-end shows adding to another tourist attraction in the city.

The 45-minutes show for the city is unique in many ways. It deals with a very contemporary subject of the growth of a 55-year old city, whereas the world over most son-et-lumiere deal with historical subjects, says Ms Chandni Luthra, Senior Vice President of ITDC and the producer of the show.

The Rs.161 lakh project has been executed in the 100 sq meters promenade between the museum building and the administrative block with a sitting area which can accommodate 150 persons, informs Mr. J.S. Bir, Managing Director, CITCO.

The entire area with special lighting, artistically designed seating area which has been executed by the local artist Narender Thakur, has been developed to give the tourists an entirely new experience, he adds.

The inaugural show is in English and soon Hindi and Punjabi versions shall also be released which would be a regular feature at the Government Museum on every Friday, Saturday and Sunday, from 7:30pm onwards, informs Mr. Arvind Malhotra, General Manager Tourism, CITCO.

The show opens on an exuberant note with a Bhangra performance, and the three sutradhaars, namely Sukhna Lake , the goddess Chandi and Le Corbusier, take one through a long journey from the partition of India to the guided tour of the present day city.

The show features the voices of Kirron Kher, Inder Misra, Jasbir Malik, Rini Khanna, Sunit Tandon, Sonia Grewal, Sunil Mansingh, and Ashish Dharamadhikari, and the music has been composed by Vanraj Bhatia, Jaspal Moni and Subhash Ghosh. The show is scripted by Dr. S.S. Bhatti, Sushmita Sengupta, and Vinod Nagpal.

No comments: